One foot in front of the other

18766033_10155369634441531_2734394718576523237_nI burnt three diaries the other day. They spanned across several years from my early teenage years, when nothing went as it did in the movies and I complained a lot. I probably still complain a fair amount now to be fair, but I like to also think I’m a lot more grateful; because as overwhelming and terrifying as it is, I love my life. And that’s why I burnt the diaries, I didn’t want to read years worth of moaning when I could focus on the happiness of now.

That’s what I’ve been trying to do this week especially, focus on the now. I have made it to Australia! And for the past 8 days I have just been putting one foot in front of the other, trying to ignore the voices in my head of what to do the next day or week, or whether I’ve made the right choice, and just focus on settling in. And on sleeping – they do not exaggerate the jet lag!

I’ll be honest, it’s been hard. Wondering if I’m doing a good job as an AuPair, if the family like me, if I’ll make any friends here. If I’ll spend the next 17 weeks regretting my decision. But I have made it through everyday without tears and with a smile by the evening.

Today was a particularly good day though, because all the worrying about what to do at the weekend (hey, I said I was trying not to worry, not that I was succeeding!) were unnecessary. I went for a lovely bike ride through the sunny town and then met up with another AuPair who took me for a walk around Alice Spring’s old telegraph station. This basically means walking through red dusty paths with strangely green trees surrounding you and a lot of flies following you. I did see a rock wallaby though!

It’s a strange place, Alice Springs. It’s basically the middle of Australia, this town with a cinema and shopping centre that is surrounded by outback. But it has a charm about it, this relaxed vibe that they know there isn’t much to do but everybody is friendly. I wouldn’t want to come on holiday here, but to live, so far it has nice chilled vibes. However, I’m always hesitant to speak too soon!

Anyway, just thought I’d say hello from the other side (of the world) and share the appreciation for life. Have a happy and sunny day now y’all, and don’t forget to always find things to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

